By Tim Lambert

19th Century Adelaide

1836 William Light selects Adelaide as the site for the capital of a new colony

1838 John Hindmarsh becomes the first governor of the new colony. The foundation stone of Holy Trinity Church is laid.

1840 Adelaide is incorporated. (Its the first city in Australia to be incorporated). The Royal Adelaide Hospital is founded. Adelaide has a population of 2,000.

1841 Old Adelaide Goal is built

1846 Ayers House is built

1850 Adelaide is growing very rapidly. It now has a population of 14,000

1855 Government House is built

1857 The Botanic Gardens opens in Adelaide

1858 St Francis Xavier Cathedral is dedicated

1863 Adelaide gains a gas supply

1866 Adelaide Town Hall is built

1871 Adelaide Oval is established

1872 Adelaide General Post Office is built

1874 Adelaide University is founded

1878 St peters Cathedral is consecrated. Edmund Wright House is built.

1881 The Art Gallery of South Australia is established

1889 The West Wing of Parliament House is built

20th Century Adelaide

1900 Adelaide has a population of 162,000. Adelaide gains an electricity supply.

1904 A statue of John McDouall Stuart is erected

1906 A statue of William Light is unveiled in Adelaide

1921 Adelaide airport is founded

1931 The War Memorial is built

1939 The East Wing of Parliament House is built

1966 Flinders University opens

1976 Rundle Mall opens in Adelaide

1980 Adelaide Festival Centre is finished

1986 The Migration Museum opens. The South Australia Maritime Museum opens

1987 Adelaide Convention Centre opens

1989 Tandanya Cultural Institute opens

2012 The population of Adelaide is about 1.3 million

A history of Adelaide

A timeline of Canberra

A timeline of Sydney

A timeline of Brisbane

A timeline of Melbourne