A TIMELINE OF KERESLEY AND COUNDON
By Tim Lambert
7th Century Keresley Green and Coundon are founded by the Saxons
1086 Keresley is not mentioned in the Domesday Book but Coundon is mentioned. Both are tiny villages.
18th Century Keresley Heath grows up as an industrial village with weavers
1762 The road to Coventry is turnpiked
1801 Keresley has a population of 312
1829 Coundon House is built
1847 St Thomas Church is built
1852 A Church of England School is built in Keresley
1871 Keresley has a population of 471
1894 Keresley is given a parish council. William Hillman builds Keresley Hall.
1901 Keresley has a population of 536
1913 Keresley gains a gas supply
1917 Coventry Colliery opens. A new settlement grows up at Keresley End.
1919 A branch railway is built to the railway
1927 Keresley gains an electricity supply
1929 Keresley Hall is converted to a hospital
1939 St Georges Church is built in Coundon
1951 Jaguar open a factory in Coundon
1953 Coundon Court Girls School opens
1956 Coundon Court becomes a comprehensive school
1964 A new library opens in Bennetts Road
1966 President Kennedy School opens
1968 Keresley Hospital closes
1969 Cardinal Newman School opens
1996 Keresley Colliery closes
1998 A tapestry is made for the 150th anniversary of St Thomas Church
1999 Prologis Park is built. Keresley Community Centre opens.
2005 The Jaguar car factory in Browns Lane closes
2006 Keresley Green Medical Centre opens
A History of Keresley
A Timeline of Coventry